Posted by: Frederick Cornwell Sanders | 2013/09/22

Is It Correct or Right?

English: Short explanation: 1. W has been alre...

English: Short explanation: 1. W has been already given and is correct. R is present in the word but is by itself. 2. D is correctly, and R is again by itself. 3. O is at the correct place. 4. A is not (this was also already the case) in the first word: the rest is correct. 5. At the third word, O is already correct. A second O is therefore is the only one needed. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Okay, call me old-fashioned. I like to do things correctly. Lately, a lot of people like to do something right. When I hear “correctly,” I hear someone who speaks correctly. Right could be a turn, a liberty, or a positive term. When I use “correctly,” its definition produces clarity. When “right” is used, it is a mess.

‘I am right to my right to go right.’

While this statement may seem to overstate the point, “right” needs to be used less. I can do it right, or I can do it correctly. I may practice a right by doing it correctly. Is it the right thing to do or the correct thing to do. I am confusing myself.

My conclusion to the whole mess is to use “correctly” when it can replace “right.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

