Posted by: Frederick Cornwell Sanders | 2013/09/25

I Went to Get Groceries

English: Shelves of packaged food inside a Ral...

English: Shelves of packaged food inside a Ralphs grocery store in Los Angeles. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What makes a good day at the big chain grocery store? Trying to beat the store when trying to save money. Well, I try. Unfortunately, the store has me beat before I walk through the door. Between Buy One Get One Free, buy two to get the discount (I only need one), and coupons that I do not want to use (for products I do not need), it is a chore to feel good that you did not get ripped off.

If you stick to basics (I have to), the exotic is out. If you stick to quality (a decent piece of meat), prepare to lower your portion size. If you have a special diet, prepare to pay more for your choices.

It does not help to remember the days of two dollar a gallon milk, fruits at 49 cents a pound, and bread at 99 cents a loaf.

So, what do I do? Grin and bare it. And, wish for the days 10 dollar per grocery bag at checkout.

I am dying to mention the grocery chain I use, but it would be no use. Each chain knows your loyalty is to their store, so they do not need to beg for a sale. So, I slavishly wander the aisles wishing for the premium brands and selecting by price per ounce. Actually, that is not true. I do have some brands I will not cheat on.

I know that most of us are on a budget. So, I get misty eyed when I see another patron gathering items no matter the cost.

Well, I should lose a few pounds, practice portion control, and be thankful I have food.

Leave a Reply

Categories

