Posted by: Frederick Cornwell Sanders | 2013/10/01

Who is Saying What

Illuminated Manuscript, Chapter 53 of the Book...

Illuminated Manuscript, Chapter 53 of the Book of Isaiah, Crucifixion; Veronica, Walters Manuscript W.842, fol. 6r (Photo credit: Walters Art Museum Illuminated Manuscripts)

Sometimes when I am reading the Bible, I lose who is doing the speaking. I am reading Isaiah right now, and every once in a while I forget who is making the statement. This means I have go back into the text and reread to find out who is saying what.

Isaiah’s long passages give me trouble. If it was not for “The LORD says,” I would be even more lost. Fortunately, quotes accompany what is being said, so I take my highlighter or colored pencil, thus keeping my place.

Oh, the challenges of reading.

Leave a Reply

Categories

